Fort Kaministiquia
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Fort Kaministiquia (former spellings include Fort Camanistigoyan, Fort Kanastigoya, Fort Kamanastigoya and others), was a French fort in North America. It was located on the north shore of Lake Superior at the mouth of the Kaministiquia River, in modern-day Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada. It and Grand Portage to the west were the starting points of the early Canadian canoe routes from the Great Lakes to western Canada. Details of the route can be found under Kaministiquia River.
In 1807 it was renamed Fort William
This is a stub article adapted from the intro of the corresponding Wikipedia article, whose full text covers the subject in greater detail. Content is available under a CC BY-SA 4.0 license.